Skip to content

A CONTENTED LIFE

August 13, 2015

 When the dogs and I  walked up to see the donkeys this morning, MJ trotted over for a bit of attention.  She is a beautiful creature, almost Mammoth in size, with a shiny dark dark brown coat over a trim body.  Her ears are enormous, her eyes are dark pools and her nose is touched here and there with a bit of grey.  At 15 years she is at the peak of her life. As I ran my fingers over her silky neck, I scratched her a little here and there which caused her to stretch out in delight.  It was a brief encounter, one that we both enjoyed.

MJ’s obvious contentment, indeed, the contentment of all the donkeys standing and lying in the fields was a joy to behold and in that moment the list of essentials below ran through my mind.  It is a list that provides guidelines for good animal care or, for that matter, the living conditions of all beings.

                      THE ESSENTIAL REQUIREMENTS FOR A CONTENTED LIFE

  • ADEQUATE FOOD
  • Do I have enough of the right kinds of food to eat?
  • ADEQUATE SHELTER   
  • Can I get away from wind, rain, sun and snow?
  • ADEQUATE WATER
  • Do I have access to fresh, clean water to drink, even on the hottest and the coldest days?
  • SPACE TO MOVE AND EXERCISE
  • Do I have access to enough space to move around, in keeping with my biological needs?
  • FREEDOM OF CHOICE
  • Am I allowed to make choices about how I live my life each day?
  • PROPER SOCIAL CONTEXT
  • Do I have the opportunity to live with my own kind, and relate to them as I would in my natural environment?
  • MENTAL AND PHYSICAL STIMULATION
  • Is there variety where I live?

Sandra Pady, Founder

 

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jennifer Wingate permalink
    August 13, 2015 6:40 pm

    Sandra I firmly believe that the entire list of the essentials for a contented life- for animals or their carers-are to be found at the Donkey Sanctuary.
    I read recently that the animals enjoy warm water in winter, much as we would enjoy a hot chocolate, this was a new fact to me. Jennifer W

Leave a Reply

